ThisisBigBrother.com - UK TV Forums

ThisisBigBrother.com - UK TV Forums (https://www.thisisbigbrother.com/forums/index.php)
-   Serious Debates & News (https://www.thisisbigbrother.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Is public school worth the money? (https://www.thisisbigbrother.com/forums/showthread.php?t=42499)

Freddy111 13-08-2007 06:45 AM

Is public school worth the money?

Just wondering, is the money public schools charge for their education worth it, when some students who attend schools run by the council go on to achieve more, e.g. a friend in my school last year won 'Best ICT student in Wales and second best in the U.K.' and she was educated at the same school as me, a council run school here in Barry. I personally don't think it's worth it, do you guys?

Bigbrotherin 13-08-2007 06:52 AM

It's a complete waste of money :bored:. I attended a public secondary school and I ended up dropping out age 16 and attending college (not because I'm dumb, I'm a B+/A- student, I just didn't like school enough to have stayed on). Hardly worth the £10k/year it cost my parents. Although it's worth it for the fun, as some of the greatest people I ever met were there :dance2: I kind of miss them as I have fallen out of touch with about 80% of them.

Sunny_01 13-08-2007 08:13 AM

hmm I have mixed feelings about this. I suppose to be honest ANY school is only as good as the teachers it employs. If a school has excellent teachers that engange well with young people then regardless of whether it is a private or local authority school the kids will do as well as they possibly can.

I know people who have paid for their children to go to private school only to withdraw them as they dont appear to be reaching their full potential in the stifling rules enforced upon them, yes I also know a couple who's daughter has more than exceeded at private school.