PDA

View Full Version : Best five cultures of the world... and why? (no order necessary)

Maru
14-03-2018, 02:41 AM
I am having too much trouble with ordering, so I'll just leave this optional...

My Top 5:

Mexican/Hispanic
Italian
Japanese
Vietnamese
Puerto Rico

Mexico - I grew up basically in this culture although I'm not Hispanic. I would say a vast majority of the people I knew until I graduated high school were Hispanic or at least Spanish speaking, and so I've had a ton of exposure. I love the laid back nature of it's people. I think part of the reason I feel so balanced (compared to peers in my age group) is because of the tropical climate and siesta style culture of where I grew up. Nobody takes anything too seriously... but still family-oriented. Great music, great food, and Tejano/Texican food+culture is a great mix... it's one of the things I love most about where I grew up. Honestly, the attitude of it's people are great... very down-to-earth and friendly folk. They're also very charitable... especially my current neighbors. I'm trying to pick up Spanish for my work and also so I can communicate better with my neighbors...

Vietnamese - Lately I am falling in love with the cuisine and apparently there is such a thing Vietnamese tea? (I think it's just Jasmine?). I also know several folk from this culture, so easier for it to make my top 5, same with Mexican culture... I mostly enjoy it for it's language. It's a nightmare on the eyes written-wise because it has so much punctuation, but it sounds nice on the ears.

Puerto Rico - They are Americans like us, but I like this culture for similar reasons to Mexican culture... except the climate and culture is far more tropical. It reminds me of a cross between Hawaii and Mexico.