ThisisBigBrother.com - UK TV Forums

ThisisBigBrother.com - UK TV Forums (https://www.thisisbigbrother.com/forums/index.php)
-   Serious Debates & News (https://www.thisisbigbrother.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Is a degree worth anything nowadays? (https://www.thisisbigbrother.com/forums/showthread.php?t=274731)

Z 19-03-2015 05:50 PM

Is a degree worth anything nowadays?

Do you think there's still value in teenagers and young adults (or mature students!) getting a degree?

LeatherTrumpet 19-03-2015 05:57 PM

no

the minute they started making up unis and colleges the arse fell out of the kudos

"Oh I have a first class degree in Media Studies at the University of Castlemilk"

"aye right hen, huv you ever worked in a shop before? coz if ye huvny ye can do one and take yer degree way ye"

Tom4784 19-03-2015 05:59 PM

I imagine they'd make for decent drink coasters.

Jay. 19-03-2015 06:07 PM

Depends on which career. I'm going into teaching so it's necessary for me to get a degree. But some, you could probably do without I suppose.

LeatherTrumpet 19-03-2015 06:07 PM

University of Bedfordshire
University of Central Lancashire
University of Cumbria
Edge Hill University
University of Essex
Glyndŵr University
Leeds Beckett University
Liverpool Hope University
University of Portsmouth
etc

:umm2:

Kizzy 19-03-2015 06:08 PM

Of course there is, it shows you can dedicate yourself to 3yrs of study and have the skills set to apply yourself in theory and in practice.

Kizzy 19-03-2015 06:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeatherTrumpet (Post 7647635)
University of Bedfordshire
University of Central Lancashire
University of Cumbria
Edge Hill University
University of Essex
Glyndŵr University
Leeds Beckett University
Liverpool Hope University
University of Portsmouth
etc

:umm2:

Do you have a degree LT?

Jack_ 19-03-2015 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeatherTrumpet (Post 7647635)
University of Portsmouth

rude :hmph: